The Maltese Citizenship by Naturalisation for Exceptional Services by Direct Investment is a residency route leading to citizenship in Malta. This way, an individual can make a direct investment in the economy of Malta, donate and hold residential property. 

Under the new route, you have two options: 

  1. Citizenship after three (3) years of residency 
  2. Citizenship after one (1) year of residency 


Direct Investment 


Property Investment 

Three (3) years residency 

€600,000, additional €50,000 per dependant 


Rent for a minimum of €16,000 per annum or purchase for €700,000 

One (1) year residency 

€750,000, additional €50,000 per dependant 


Rent for a minimum of €16,000 per annum or purchase for €700,000 


As the principal applicant, you must make philanthropic donations to registered cultural, scientific, animal welfare, artistic or sport non-governmental society organisations aside from exceptional direct and property investments. You must also retain your property for at least five (5) years from the date of issue of citizenship. 

The granting of Citizenship by Naturalisation for Exceptional Services by Direct Investment is regulated by S.L. 188.05. The annual quota is 400 applicants, totalling 1,500 applicants for the whole scheme. 

What does the regulation grant? 

  • Citizenship in Malta, a well-respected and economically and politically stable E.U. country - along with the option of allowing the future generations to inherit 
  • Freedom to travel to 184 countries, including the USA, Canada and Australia 
  • Right of establishment in all 27 E.U. and four (4) EEA member states  
  • Right to own a second home in Malta. 

This eligibility can be extended to the dependants, including the spouse or partner, children, parents and grandparents under specific terms. 

Are you ready for your Maltese citizenship? 

Our team of immigration law experts at Endevio can guide you through the application process and ensure the preparation of all documents in accordance with Maltese regulations. 

Eligibility & Fees

Q1. Who is eligible to apply?

Third country nationals are eligible, excluding nationals from Afghanistan and North Korea, EEA and Swiss. In the future, applications from other countries may also be excluded in accordance with Government policies.